merc 502 mag mpi overheating >

merc 502 mag mpi overheating

Notices

merc 502 mag mpi overheating

Old 04-16-2008, 07:37 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default merc 502 mag mpi overheating

I have a pair of 502 mag mpi's raw water cooled in a 1999 Formula 353 Fastech. My starboard side engine overheats when the boat is run above 4800 rpms. The engine cools off when dropping off plane. The outboard exhaust riser is warmer than the inboard side at all rpm. Replaced my raw water pump with no change. Boat is run in fresh water only. Any information would be appreciated. Thank you
Old 04-16-2008, 08:55 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I am not an expert on this, but I would back flush your cooling system,hoses,oil cooler, etc. oil cooler could have some blockage such as pieces of old impeller, seaweed,pebbles etc. take winterizing drains out and make sure you don't have sand built up in the engine. Might not hurt to check/replace thermostat in case its not fully opening. You can probably find a ton of info on this by doing a search on this forum. Good luck.
Old 04-17-2008, 12:04 PM
Platinum Member

Received 134 Likes on 80 Posts

' search function ' ... oh yeah , you'll see a ton of stuff on this come up !

The first thing you really need to do is make sure you're getting good 'feed' to that engine at the water (raw) pump.
Don't waste any more time changing parts . Compare it's flow to the engine that's OK and then go from there.
And don't forget the very last thing it seems that comes up on overheating threads ... the transfer tube through the trans plate . It corrodes down and closes up the flow . will puzzle the heck out of you ... my friend just went through this with a pair of 350 mags.
Old 04-17-2008, 12:08 PM
Charter Member #1171
Charter Member

Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts

Id start with backflushing.

If you can get to the cooler even better,,, I just did a boat we backflushed and still ran warm.