Procharger idler bracket/ modifications questions

Notices

Procharger idler bracket/ modifications questions

Old 08-15-2011, 12:23 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 824 Likes on 377 Posts
Default Procharger idler bracket/ modifications questions

I have been running a m-3sc procharger for around 10 years, could never get consistent boost with the 8 rib drive pulleys/belts once I started using a upper pulley under 4.00 inches so a long time ago I converted mine to 12 rib wide drive. 2 years ago I couldn't make as much boost as normal and felt belt was slipping, when I tightened up the tensioner enough to get slip to stop it cocked the tensioner enough compounded by wear in the point where it swivels and it almost immediately shredded the 12 rib belt when it tried to run cockeyed. I had some used tensioner parts laying around from a spare set-up, stuck them on and it ran good for another 30 hours.
Was just on Vacation, boat was only making 1/2 as much boost as normal, tightened up tensioner a little more and boost came right back and it shredded my belt after a short time (minutes). The tensioner sucks, as you actually tighten it enough to get slip to stop it has so much leverage on it that it wears uneven then always cocks pulling belt off center and trying to drag it off pulley ribs. Instead of me giving Procharger anymore of my cash I am looking for permanent solutions others may have found, Smitty
Old 08-15-2011, 10:16 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

I been told a m-5 tensioner can be made to work but not sure with stock bracket for m-3 if this is do-able. I also found a bracket that reichard sells that might work but they haven't called me back yet
http://www.reichardracing.com/images...tensioner2.jpg
Old 08-15-2011, 10:29 AM
Pirate of the Chesapeake
Gold Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts