intakes on hp500's >

intakes on hp500's

Notices

intakes on hp500's

Old 04-08-2012, 11:24 AM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default intakes on hp500's

trying to put new intakes on my hp500's, they are Darts #4114000, they will not sit down far enough on the motor to be able to put the intakes bolts in. It appears to me that the intakes have to be shaved to get them to drop down far enough to get the right fit. Has anyone encountered this problem and what is the fix. Any and all help will be appreciated. thanks (Sam) Also recommendations on the intake gaskets. I believe the ones we used were felpro #1274

Last edited by jackieboy; 04-08-2012 at 05:24 PM.
Old 04-08-2012, 11:33 AM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Received 35 Likes on 17 Posts

My builder last year, told me since the block and heads were machined quite a bit, that the intake needed it also. I'm not an expert by any means, just passing on what I was told. Others here may have a better solution.
Old 04-08-2012, 12:17 PM
Charter Member
Charter Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If the block has been decked or the heads milled the intake can get out of alignment. I drilled bigger holes in the intake so the bolts would thread into the heads instead of machining the intake.
Old 04-08-2012, 05:27 PM
Registered

Default intakes

drilled the holes in the intakes to get the bolts to fit, but the intakes still sat up to high, started the motor on the port side and it ingested water, a lot of water. Took the intake off and resealed it but still had the problem.
Old 04-08-2012, 05:46 PM
Registered

Received 43 Likes on 31 Posts

Is the bottom of the manifold bottoming out on the China wall? If so you might haft to mill some off the bottom of the manifold.
Old 04-08-2012, 06:46 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fixx

are you just replacing the intakes???? are you sure you have 500 hp's and not bull dog 500's ???? bull dogs were a tall deck engine which would take a differant intake..