Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
502 EFI same fuel injector keep getting "stuck" open?? pics, Baja, DVX >

502 EFI same fuel injector keep getting "stuck" open?? pics, Baja, DVX

Notices

502 EFI same fuel injector keep getting "stuck" open?? pics, Baja, DVX

Old 06-02-2012, 11:40 AM
Registered

Received 25 Likes on 15 Posts
Exclamation 502 EFI same fuel injector keep getting "stuck" open?? pics, Baja, DVX

Hi guys,

Well this is my first post here on this forum and could use your help. Im new to boats but not engines. Only my experience is car engine's ( 7MGTE's mainly)

Boat: Repowered with earlier edition 502 EFI, (about 500 hours) 1990 Baja 265 DVX

Problem is #8 fuel injector is stuck open and this isn't the first time.!! When I bought the boat this spring it had the same problem that the marina pd to fix/replace the injector.

Now maybe 15 hours later same thing, same injector same cylinder!! Started blowing white white/blue smoke out the right bank, brand new spark plug has gas sitting it it, and oil pan is plump full of oil and gas mix.

I know there is always the "chance" to get a bad injector but it just seems odd to me that its the same cylinder. I already ordered a new one from Mercruiser and will have this bad one sent out for flow testing and cleaning that can be used a spare if needed..

Fell free to post other things to check or test, and your thoughts/ideas.

Thank you in advance , Rob

P.S. I love pics so here are a few of the vessel so we know what were talking about.

Madlin voyage pic. Girl friend holding it at the dock.

Last edited by 92nsx; 06-02-2012 at 11:52 AM.
Old 06-03-2012, 12:38 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 814 Likes on 373 Posts