Question for MegaSquirt users >

Question for MegaSquirt users

Notices

Question for MegaSquirt users

Old 05-13-2016, 01:47 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Question for MegaSquirt users

I have a procharged 502 with Mefi3. It's running too fat for my liking, so it needs a tune. I'm also hoping to build another motor this winter, so rather than pay for a tune, I've been contemplating a MS3. That way I can use it on my current motor and when I build the new one, I can transfer it over and purchase the MS3X expansion card for sequential fire. The MS3 has enough capabilities, so the MS Pro isn't necessary. I do have a budget, otherwise I'd go with the Holley, for the ease of tuning.

So the question I have is: how difficult is it to tune the MS? I realize that's a fairly subjective question, because "easy" is relative to "ability", but to try and give you an idea: I'm a reasonably competent backyard mechanic and I have an electricians ticket with a background servicing/installing/programing computerized control systems, (although, that was several years ago).

I just got my boat running after 4yrs of downtime, so I'd rather run my boat as is than kill another summer dicking around with it.
Does the auto-tune work very well on the MS3? If the auto-tune can get me close, I don't mind spending time tweaking it. I just don't think I want to spend the time learning and building a tune from scratch.

Also, what have you guys done for a knock sensor? Is the Megasquirt kit really necessary or can the Merc sensors be monitored directly with the ECU somehow?

I appreciate any input. Thanks in advance.
Old 05-13-2016, 08:58 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

well first off get a wideband installed. I believe there is some really good autotune software available for like 50 bucks that works with ms3.

Frankly it would be worth your time to pay 500 bucks to have someone dyno tune it after you get it close, but I could see tuning it in boat.