How fast can I go

Notices

How fast can I go

Old 09-11-2016, 02:02 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How fast can I go

Hello

I have a 21 foot prowler boat by Cooper Yachts that I'm going to repower and I'm curious as to what you guys think about the hull design...

Right now it powered by a 4.3 mercruiser alpha one and I'm building a 383 for it.

Right now it does 45 and my goal is 55+

I don't know how much it weighs and I don't know what the beam is... So I'm hoping you could take a look at the pictures and hazard a guess

I'm thinking it should do 60 without running into chine walk but I'm no expert... To get me close I figure I need another 150 hp but maybe not?

Opinions?

Thanxs

Ps I'm aware of the alpha one hp limitations... Going for a re=gear or maybe a sei drive... And if I can't keep the drive from blowing up I guess a bravo.. Just hear a lot of people saying I might be able to make the alpha survive if I'm nice to it lol

[IMG][/IMG]

Last edited by goodboy; 09-11-2016 at 02:15 PM.
Old 09-11-2016, 02:34 PM
Registered

I assume you're down at 225 horse or 190 horse with the 4.3. If it's 225, I'm guessing you'll need 130 or so HP to add 10 mph. A 383 could easily be built to about 400 HP. So, I think you'll make it to 55 and then some. At 400 horse, still with the Alpha if you're kind to it, I could see 60+.

I DON'T know the boat and whether doing that makes sense or will be within the strength margins for the layup, nor whether it the speed will work with the hull shape, etc. Guessing it's fine if things are strong enough.

Last edited by Ghost24; 09-11-2016 at 02:36 PM.
Old 09-11-2016, 02:34 PM
Registered

Received 121 Likes on 65 Posts

Screw that SBC. Call pslonaker and get one of his super awesome custom "Shootah Bullet 540s" built in has magic room and really make that bayliner lookalike fly
The following 2 users liked this post by endeavor1:
endeavour32 (06-01-2021), getrdunn (05-31-2021)
Old 09-11-2016, 02:54 PM
Registered