Bravo 3 - Overheating ?  Long Island >

Bravo 3 - Overheating ? Long Island

Notices

Bravo 3 - Overheating ? Long Island

Old 12-19-2020, 08:10 AM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Bravo 3 - Overheating ? Long Island

Hi. Newbie here. Trying to assess if Iím having an overheating issue in my 2003 Bravo 3 (1100 hours ). I believe somethings going on as lower unit oil overflows from oil reservoir when running over 4000rpms ( wonít otherwise ). Iíve owned engine and drive since new.

The only work done (2) years ago ( 120 hours ) was new u joint assembly was installed - Iím concerned the pre-load is too tight. When hand turning shaft ( out of fear ), it feels a little Ďgrindyí, like I can feel the bearings turning.

Iím looking for a top notch, honest, highly qualified mercruiser mechanic who knows his stuff - located on Long Island NY. I can deliver the drive...

Thank you

Old 12-19-2020, 03:25 PM
Charter Member # 55
Charter Member

Received 469 Likes on 228 Posts

Have you tried a new drive lube reservoir cap??
The following users liked this post:
SB (01-15-2021)
Old 12-19-2020, 03:31 PM
Registered

Iím replacing entire reservoir and cap. Iíd hate to assume itís that, put her in next year and have it happen again. Is there a way to test my current rez and cap ?
Old 12-19-2020, 04:44 PM
Registered

Received 201 Likes on 93 Posts

Originally Posted by ABL1111 View Post
Iím replacing entire reservoir and cap. Iíd hate to assume itís that, put her in next year and have it happen again. Is there a way to test my current rez and cap ?
was also going to suggest the reservoir cap. how does your oil look? If it is overheating, it will smell burned and appear black.

To test the cap, drain the drive, and pressurize the drive (15 psi). youíll have to make up a pressure tester. Itís pretty simple and cheap. Pickup a Schrader valve, tubing, fitting for drive drain, and bike pump with guage.

Pressure will test whole system. Drive, tubing, bottle and cap.