Notices
Formula

Battery Switch Question

Old 06-15-2006, 10:19 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Battery Switch Question

My boat (91 311) has 2 batteries and 1 switch; OFF, 1, ALL, and 2.

What is the correct position to use while running, charging (shore power), and haning out at the beach lsitening to tunes?
Thank you in advance.
Old 06-15-2006, 11:07 AM
Registered

Default Re: Battery Switch Question

Here's my two cents but I'm no expert. However, I always have hot batteries (never dead).

My 242LS has the same set-up. I have a deep cycle battery in position 1 and a cranking/starter battery in position 2. I use position 1 when anchored and listening to the radio, etc... That way I always keep my starter battery charged. I switch to "ALL" when starting and cruising.

On the trailer, I'm always switched to "OFF" so the radio and amp don't inadvertently drain the power. Of interest, my auto bilge switch is hard-wired to the batteries. It works even if the batteries are switched "OFF". That works great unless there's some water left in the bilge and you forget to pull the plug. I gave a guy's car a shower while stopping last time out.

I don't know on the shore power, but I think you'd want them off when charging. I always have mine off when on the charger at home. We just don't normally dock and use shore power and it's easy for me to use a manual charger in the barn.

Good luck!

Last edited by chewymalone; 06-15-2006 at 11:25 AM.
Old 06-15-2006, 11:23 AM
Registered

Call Formula Support 260.724.1412 and request a wiring diagram. In addition to showing how things are connected, there is text on the drawings that details how things respond for each setting of the battery switch (there are lots of other useful hints on other pages as well).