Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Need help choosing 454 mpi Cam!?!?!?! >

Need help choosing 454 mpi Cam!?!?!?!

Like Tree12Likes

Need help choosing 454 mpi Cam!?!?!?!

Old 01-06-2020, 10:23 AM
Registered

Default Need help choosing 454 mpi Cam!?!?!?!

Hello, Ive used OFO as a great resource for years now but this is my first time posting as Im starting a build on my 1998 Campion Chase 800 (27ft). I have the Merc 454 (7.4L MPI) 330hp I believe and am looking for input on upgrading the camshaft to gain a little more breathing room in the top end of the rpm range for longer trips. Everything in the motor is stock currently. Its getting pulled due to low pressure from the fuel pump, bad head gasket and a messed up injector. The guy who had the boat before me was very DIY and as a result the engine isnt as clean and put together as Id like it, so im pulling the entire setup to go over it and clean it up cosmetically and figured while it was out thats my best opportunity to add a little extra reliability in terms of quality of internals, as well as power.

Boat currently runs 62mph flat out light on fuel on the right water. Would like to do add more mid range to help with crusing as well as a little top end for those times we need to outrun the weather.

Any input is appreciated.
Old 01-06-2020, 11:09 AM
VIP Member
VIP Member

The best thing to do with that engine is leave it the way it came from Mercruiser. It is not a performance engine, and the costs to get anything out of it will far outweigh any performance gains.

If it runs well, pull it/clean it up and sell, then try to find a 454/502 Mag MPI, or perhaps a 496 Mag or Mag HO. You'll be well ahead of the game going that route.
Old 01-06-2020, 11:51 AM
Registered

Thanks Tom, the only reason Iíve considered going this route is because Iíve found it hard to come across a 454 mag or 502mag at a reasonable price here in eastern Canada and when I do theyíve got 600+ hours on them.